A few weeks back I was contacted by Autumn, who told me she was referred to me by a friend of mine. Autumn told me she had RSD. To be perfectly honest I never heard of RSD.

After a few hours of research, I developed empathy for Autumn and for those who have RSD. I felt the need to document a small portion of what Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy is and how it can affect a person who has it.

As a photojournalist I felt compelled to help tell this story, I use my Canon 7D and a goPro hero 2 to help capture this footage.

Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD) is a chronic, painful, and progressive neurological condition that affects skin, muscles, joints, and bones.

Basically It’s the mind and body overreacting to a injury. The pain rods in the body mysteriously go haywire and causes a chain reaction that causes even more pain.

Kind of like a car engine revving out of control.

For more information on this disorder, please visit www.rsds.org

 

4 thoughts on “Autumn Stevens struggles with Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy

  1. Hello,

    Thank you so much for taking an interest in bringing about awareness of this life-changing syndrome! I suffer from RSD, and it has wreaked havoc in my life! It has literally turned my life upside down, and inside out in a manner of speaking! I am now totally disabled, and I suffer from severely debilitating effects of RSD. Even though I am a victim of this syndrome, my heart goes out to those who suffer from this syndrome, as well!

    I found your blog as a result of receiving a Pingback from your site. Thank you for making that connection! I applaud your efforts, and please keep up the great work! Thanks again! May God bless you, abundantly!

    Paulette

    Like

    • Hello Paulette,

      A few weeks back I was contacted by Autumn, who told me she was referred to me by a friend of mine. Autumn told me she had RSD. To be perfectly honest I never heard of RSD.

      After a few hours of research, I developed empathy for Autumn and for all those who have RSD. I felt the need to document a small portion of what Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy is and how it can affect a person who has it.

      I’m freelance photojournalist. I’m passionate about reporting positive news and stories that SHOULD be covered by more main stream outlets.

      I thank you for your comment. Notwithstanding i wish you the best of luck and i hope you and other suffers of RSD get the treatment you need here in the United States of America.

      Like

  2. Thank you for helping to spread awareness of our horrific disease! Every bit of press, every post, every blog, every mention anywhere makes a difference. So many people have no idea what this disease is all about.

    We started the national CRPS organization in 1995, American RSDHope, and although we have been able to accomplish some wonderful things with the help of many, many remarkable individuals from all over the country there is still so much work to do. The SSAdministration now accepts CRPS as a disability, that entailed a lot of work. November is National CRPS Awareness Month, THAT took a lot of years to put together. And we also have a national CRPS Awareness Ribbon, have for quite a few years now, ( full of flames and fire just like the disease, you can see it on our website’s cover page and even get a free copy for your own website or blog).

    But so much work still needs to be done to bring awareness. I recently moved to NC, because the pain from the cold of the north and the heat of the south was very hard on my CRPS, and I love it here. Finding Drs in new places is not always easy. I have met so many Drs and nurses here who do not know about the disease but are willing to learn.

    Thank you again for your help ;-D

    If we can be of any help in your quest do not hesitate to call on me personally, RSDHope@mac.com , or the organization , http://www.RSDHope.org , we will do whatever we can to help.

    Peace,
    Keith Orsini
    American RSDHope
    http://www.rsdhope.org

    Like

Leave a Reply

