As a photojournalist when you get an assignment, such as shooting media day, what are your immediate thoughts?

Well, For me I knew right off the back, I wasn’t going to approach the assignment with the typical shots of players interviewing with the media, I personally find them to be quiet boring, unless it’s a championship game of sorts.

img_3709-2

Former Eagles quarterback Kevin Kolb interview with the press after practice at Lehigh University. Special To The News Journal/SAQUAN STIMPSON


The editor forwarded me the assignment sheet and he gave me specific details on who he was looking for.

Example: Instructions: It’s UD football media day and we’re looking for interesting portraits of UD football players. We’ll use these w feature stories. Here are the players we’d like to shoot individually.

1-Malcolm Brown, DB 3-Joe Walker, QB 5-Charles Bell, MLB 6-Jamie Jarmon, WR 9-Troy Reeder, LB 24-Ryan Torzsa, S 31-Wes Hills, RB 33-Jalen Randolph, RB 73-Blaine Woodson, DT 75-Connor Bozick, OT 80-Diante Cherry, WR 92-Bilal Nichols, DT

Deadline: 08-15-2016 12:00 PM, Event time: 08-14-2016 05:30 PM

After reading the instructions I felt as if the editor was reading my mind! (LOL). On that day the media would have access to the players at approximately 4:30 PM, however I knew I would need to take portraiture of the players so I was in my best interest to arrived two hours in advance so I could set up.

FYI: I asked former head coach Dave Brock if I could photograph him even though the photo editor did not request a Image of the coach, Be it as it may this is a news paper you just never know when they will need a good image of a person, to be used possibly for a feature or story down the road.

Essentially what I’m telling you is to always be a forward thinker, think outside the box and deliver images that was not requested.

Anyway, Here’s my set up:

img_3134-2

My set up taken Sunday, August 14, 2016, at Delaware Field House Facility on the campus of the University of Delaware in Newark. Saquan Stimpson

What did I used? I went to a three speed light set up. I used (3) Canon EOS 430 EXII, (1) Rogue Flashbender 2 – Large Soft Box kit , (2) Rogue 3-in-1 Flash Grid,

(4) Pocket-wizards “The PocketWizard Plus III Transceiver” & “PlusX, (3) PocketWizard 804-419 3-Feet HSFM3 Hot Shoe to Mini Jack Adapter (Black) (3) standard light stands (1) tripod (1) reflector and I used The Canon 7D Mark II and the lens was the Canon 24-105f/4L.

See finish results

Delaware Quarterback Joe Walker (3)

Photo of Delaware Quarterback Joe Walker (3) taken Sunday, August 14, 2016, at Delaware Field House Facility on the campus of the university of Delaware in Newark. Saquan Stimpson

Delaware Offensive linemen Connor Bozick (75)

Photo of Delaware Offensive linemen Connor Bozick (75) taken Sunday, August 14, 2016, at Delaware Field House Facility on the campus of the university of Delaware in Newark. Saquan Stimpson

Delaware Head Football Coach Dave Brock

Photo of Former Delaware Head Football Coach Dave Brock taken Sunday, August 14, 2016, at Delaware Field House Facility on the campus of the university of Delaware in Newark. Saquan Stimpson

Delaware Cornerback Malcolm Brown (1)

Photo of Delaware Cornerback Malcolm Brown (1) taken Sunday, August 14, 2016, at Delaware Field House Facility on the campus of the university of Delaware in Newark. Saquan Stimpson

 

As I stated in my previous post I do plan to go back to a full frame camera body particularly for shooting features “Portraits” I personally feel I will get better results with a full frame body verse a crop sensor camera, This is my opinion. My last full frame body was the Canon 1Ds, Currently, I’m looking at affordable used full frame bodies Examples: 1Ds Mark II and the Canon 5D Mark II, recently fellow blogger Amy Rose suggested that I go with the Canon EOS 6D, something I will consider being that I did borrow that model that from Canon Professional Services (CPS) a few years ago.

 

Visit my Website

2 thoughts on “Photographing Media Day

Leave a Reply

