Wilmington – Wednesday’s normal is the day when I go and volunteer my time at a local high school “William Penn, The club of Gentlemen” where I help mentor young men. But today I had to take my car to the mechanic. Sorry guys.

Recently, I started noticing a whining sound when I would turn the steering wheel. I knew that wasn’t normal, I did what any logical person would do. I went to the manual.

After referring to the manual and researching YouTube I discover that the power steering reservoir was low or empty. So I did the next logical thing and fill up the reservoir with more power steering fluid. Problem corrected, right? Wrong!!!!.

After a week or two I started hearing the SAME WHINING SOUND so I filled the power steering reservoir once again, but, this time I wanted to pay attention to where the leaky fluid was coming from.

I discovered the fluid always ended up in the same spot behind the engine block. I drive a Pontiac Grand Prix with a 3800 series III engine. On these engine the power steering reservoir sits in the back of the engine, near the passenger side.

3800-series-iii

Yellow circle indicates where the power steering reservoir is located on the 3800 series III engine.

Now that we are clear on the positioning of the power steering reservoir, now, I can explain how I figured out where the leak was coming from. After further research I identified that the lines “high pressure line” ran behind and underneath the engine block and ending up near the driver side.

Remarkably, I followed the “high pressure line” from the power steering reservoir to the bottom of the engine block “the line was looking saturated” I than looked underneath the car and I could see small amounts of liquid droplets of power steering fluid coming underneath the engine, I did more probing on YouTube and confirmed my initial diagnosis.

I took the car into my mechanic and explain the situation and also describe my conclusion, my mechanic said that sounds about right, lets put the car on the lift and check it out. After a quick examination underneath the car, it was confirmed that indeed the high pressure line was indeed bad.

high-pressure-line

A view of corroded high pressure line underneath the undercarriage of 2007 Pontiac Prix shot with a iPhone 6s by Saquan Stimpson.

The decision was made to replace the line, also got (2) new tires, notwithstanding an engine tune up.

spark-plug-2

A view of corroded spark plug taken from an 2007 Pontiac Prix during a tune up shot with a iPhone 6s by Saquan Stimpson.

The point of writing my account besides taking a few pictures of the work being done is to confirm that we should know a little bit about our cars so we aren’t taken advantage of while visiting the mechanic.

Leave a Reply

