Last week Thursday “12/01/16” I was assign to photograph Athlete of the Week for The News Journal in Wilmington Delaware. Normally, I will try to envision my set-up prior to arriving at the location. Is this normal?  Well, For me it’s quite normal to do this being that I will only have a short period of time to work with the athlete.

Upon arriving on the campus of Tower Hill in Wilmington Delaware I immediately made up in my mind that I was going to use multiple speed-lights (2) to light the subject.

Tower Hill Goal Keeper Bo Anderson (0)

Tower Hill Goal Keeper Bo Anderson (0) poses for a photo Thursday, Dec. 01, 2016, at Tower Hill in Wilmington. Photo By Saquan Stimpson

However, while waiting for the soccer coach to call me back I notice a lot of wind blowing. The wind gust would be entirely too strong to use multiple speed lights like I had originally planned.

Therefore, I went to a (2) light set up. I used (2) Canon EOS 430 EXII and (1) Rogue Flashbender 2 – Large Soft Box kit and (1) standard light stand notwithstanding with the help of the standard soccer goal post I was able to clap one of the two Canon EOS 430 EXII to the goal post using a Manfrotto Magic Arm Kit to hold the flash in place (CLICK HERE TO SEE VIDEO).

Tower Hill Goal Keeper Bo Anderson (0)

Tower Hill Goal Keeper Bo Anderson (0) poses for a photo Thursday, Dec. 01, 2016, at Tower Hill in Wilmington. Photo By Saquan Stimpson

I used The Canon 7D Mark II and the lens was the Canon 24-105f/4L. on this shoot; Like I said in my previous Athlete of the Week post; I still plan on purchasing a full frame body particularly for shooting these features, Currently, I’m looking at affordable used full frame bodies Examples: The Canon 5D Mark IICanon 5D Mark III or The Canon EOS 6D however, this will take a little bit of time; I promise you all I shall return to the full frame category.

Read full story here:

Leave a Reply

